Friday, December 9, 2022

How To Delete An Apple ID?

Apple allows you to permanently delete your account to protect your privacy and personal data.

You can also temporarily deactivate your apple account if you do not want to delete it permanently.

Here is a detailed guide for you on how to delete an apple ID. Read through it to know the details.

Also read: Why iPhone Won’t Let Me Delete Photos? [Solved]

What Happens When You Delete Apple Account?

When you delete your Apple account, all the associated data and account details get permanently deleted from the Apple servers.

Everything stored in iCloud will be deleted permanently.

If you sign into your account after deleting the Apple ID, you will not be able to access any data associated with that Apple ID.

You cannot send or receive any messages or calls from your account.

You will not be able to access any services from Apple Store, iMessage, iTunes, iCloud, Find My iPhone, and FaceTime.

If you had previously booked any Apple care appointment, it would be automatically canceled after deleting your Apple ID.

Once you delete your account, it cannot be reactivated or restored.

What Should You Do Before You Delete Your Apple ID?

Before you delete your Apple ID, you should do the following things:

1. Back up all your iCloud data.

Here, I am showing you the process to back up all your essential data with your iPhone using iCloud:

  • Connect your iPhone to a stable Wi-Fi network. Open iPhone Settings and tap on your name.
  • Select iCloud, tap on iCloud backup and enable it.

icloud-backup

This will automatically back up all your data daily.

  • You can also choose to back up your data manually. To do so, tap on the Back Up Now option.
  • To see the iCloud backups, go to your iPhone Settings and tap on your name. Open iCloud > Manage Storage > Backups.
  1. Check for any active Apple subscriptions. If you find any service you want to continue, you can use another Apple ID.
  2. If you have purchased any DRM-free content like music, iTunes services, videos, etc, download it.
  3. Make sure to sign out of your Apple devices. After you delete the Apple ID, you will not be able to sign out of iCloud.

How To Delete An Apple ID Permanently?

To delete your apple ID permanently, follow the steps given below:

  • Visit this website and log in with your Apple ID.
  • Under Delete your account title, click on Request to delete your account link.

You can select Request a copy of your data if you have not backed up iCloud.

request-a-copy-of-your-data

Download a copy of all your data from Apple apps and services, including photos, documents, your app usage history, and all the purchases you made from the app store.

request-to-delete-apple-account

  • From the next page, select a reason why you want to delete your account and click on the Continue button.

select-a-reason0why-you-want-to-delete-apple-id

  • Check the list provided from the next window and click on the Continue button.
  • Let Apple know how you want to receive the status updates, and click on the Continue button. You may give another Apple ID, phone number, or email address.

Continue-button-to-delete-apple-id

  • Apple will provide you with an access code. Note that.

apple-access-code

  • Now enter the Access code provided by Apple in the respective field and choose to Continue.

enter-apple-access-code

  • After checking all the other reminders to delete the Apple account, click on the Delete account option.

delete-apple-account-id

  • From the confirmation screen, choose to Sign out.

This process will permanently delete your Apple account and all associated data.

You can reactivate your account during this processing period. For that, you can contact Apple Support.

How To Deactivate Your Apple ID?

If you do not want to delete your Apple ID permanently if you want, you can deactivate it for the time being.

This will keep all your data and other associated contents safe while temporarily closing your data.

To do so, follow the steps given below:

request-to-deactivate-apple-account

  • From the next pop-up window, select the reason why you want to deactivate your Apple ID and click Continue.
  • Go through the checklist and click on the Continue button from the next window.
  • Check the boxes to review the terms and conditions for deactivating your account. Click Continue.
  • Apple will ask you how you want to receive your status update. You can provide another Apple ID, phone number, or email address.
  • Note the access code provided by Apple and click on the Continue button.
  • You will have to enter this access code to confirm and click Continue. From the next confirmation screen, choose to Sign out.

You can cancel this deactivation process by contacting apple support and providing them with the access code.

Frequently Asked Questions [FAQs]

  1. Does deleting Apple ID delete everything?

If you delete your Apple ID, you will not be able to access any of the Apple services or the App Store media purchases.

All the photos, documents, and related data stored in the iCloud will get permanently deleted.

Besides, you will not be able to receive or send messages to iCloud mail, iMessage, and FaceTime.

  1. For how long is an Apple account deleted?

Once you have submitted the Apple account deletion request, Apple will verify if the actual account holder has made the Request.

This reviewing process can take 6-7 days before deleting the account permanently.

  1. Does Apple ID get deleted if not used?

If your apple account is inactive for more than one year or there is a general discontinuance or material modification to the service, Apple may terminate your account.

But you will receive an email before Apple takes any steps.

Closing Up

Send us feedback if the above article was helpful to you in deleting your Apple ID.

Join our BottoBotto community always to stay updated about tech-related news and solutions.

Sanchita Das
Sanchita Das
Creative and focused. Always ready to learn new techniques and improvise accordingly. Loves to meet new challenges and explore new possibilities.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read