Friday, September 30, 2022

When Can WhatsApp Close A Group Without Informing!

Did you know that WhatsApp can close a group without the admins’ and members’ permission and not even notifying them? If you didn’t, then you must! Here is how when WhatsApp closes a group and what you need to do to avoid it.

Also, read this article and learn how WhatsApp now allows users to hide their “Last seen” status from others.

When Does WhatsApp Close A Group?

WhatsApp has strict policies that need to be always followed when using the app. When a group violates these policies, WhatsApp can close it without informing the admins and members of that group.

WhatsApp cannot check your group messages as all messages, calls, and media on WhatsApp are end-to-end encrypted. So, WhatsApp cannot decide whether the messages sent on the groups are appropriate and upholds its policies or not. So, how does it figure it out?

The moderation team on WhatsApp uses advanced machine learning technology that figures out whether to close a group based on the group’s reputation. What do I mean by reputation? Reputation here means whether the group has been reported by users.

If a group is reported by multiple users, it will have a bad reputation and WhatsApp may close it. Other than reports, any group with suspicious names and descriptions, which violate WhatsApp’s policies, then WhatsApp can also shut down the group.

What Happens To The Group After WhatsApp Shuts It Down?

You may be wondering what will happen to the group members, messages, and media after WhatsApp shuts it down. When a group is ended by WhatsApp, the group members will not be able to send messages or even read the chat history. Also, the group members cannot check the group info or see the list of other members.

Members of the group should remain unaffected, but WhatsApp can ban admins of the group from using the WhatsApp service.

How To Restore A Group Closed By WhatsApp?

If your WhatsApp group has been closed, then it is not the end. If you feel that your group doesn’t violate WhatsApp’s policies and the banning has been done by mistake, then you can appeal to the customer support of WhatsApp and request for it to be restored.

How To Avoid WhatsApp Closing Your Group?

The basic reply to this will be to follow the terms of service of WhatsApp. But you already likely know that! So, what more can you do? Make sure that you only allow members that behave within the guidelines of WhatsApp.

Also, do not name or add a description that is offensive or goes against the WhatsApp policies, even if you do it as a joke or meme. It’s not going to be a joke for everyone and WhatsApp will make sure of that.

Closing Up

So, there you have it. Now you know when WhatsApp closes a group without informing and what you can do to avoid it. If you have any queries regarding this topic, ask us in the comment section.

Sanmay Chakrabarti
Sanmay Chakrabarti
Sanmay is a Windows Insider and editor at BottoBotto. He is a Tech enthusiast and has been writing tech blogs for over 2 years now. He loves reading books, traveling to new places and listening to music in his free time.

Related Articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles